.

Little Lasse's Coffee Shop

It's a great escape in Devon!

Sometimes when I'm a little down in the dumps or just frenzied, I need a place to go to get a home-cooked meal and a smile.

I can think of a couple of places like this in Milford, but this week I'll focus on Little Lasse's in Devon.

It's an old-fashioned, family-owned joint with wood-like tables and orange chairs, green stools and several counters. There's easy-listening music playing in the background. And even orange neon signs that read "Coffee" vertically.

Confused, irritable and hungry, I pulled into the Naugatuck Avenue restaurant to get a break Tuesday morning.

I sat at a large table even though I was only one -- and no one complained. I was actually greeted with a smile by the man behind he counter who was doing it all: greeting people, taking orders, making and serving food, and cleaning up.

Not an easy task, but he still wore a smile.

"Coffee?" he asked.

"Yes, please," I said.

Within moments, I had a hot cup of brew at my table with sugar and creamer. What more could a woman ask for? Prompt. Courteous. And then he left me alone.

I mean, he let me sit there -- for a while. He must've seen I had some things to sort out.

Only after a while, I'd say seven minutes, did he come over.

"Would you like anything else?" he asked from a distance. I must've had a look on my face. You know, that deer-in-the-headlights look.

He wasn't pressuring me to buy anything. He was just being polite, asking me if I needed anything more.

"Yes, please," I said again. "Bacon, egg and cheese on a roll."

He left quietly and a short time later returned with my sandwich. It looked like what Mom would make.

I sunk my teeth into the soft poppy-seed roll and gobbled up half my breakfast before I realized I should take a photo of it -- and make Little Lasse's my Great Escape column of the week.

I noticed specials on the menu like spicy fries for $2.95.

I also eyed a sign that read: "To all of our valued customers who make this place succeed. Thank you." What a heart-warming message. I felt even more welcome.

After taking my last sip and bite, I got up and walked to the register. The man, who had been washing dishes in the back, came out promptly and rang me up. I handed him a 10-dollar bill and got $6.60 back. What a bargain!

Little Lasse's is a great escape from today's world into yesteryear -- in more ways than one!

Kathy March 09, 2011 at 11:07 PM
Been going to little Lasse's for years. Best blueberry pancakes you'll ever have! Crispy edges and loaded with blue berries.
Fred March 10, 2011 at 12:07 AM
I go to Little Lassie's for the great food , good prices, and homey atmosphere. This article is right on the money! Fred
Val March 10, 2011 at 02:24 PM
Val Your review reflects my reasons for going exactly. I can walk in in a funk and leave feeling happy. As terrific as the food is (yes - blueberry pancakes are best ever!), it's more about the person you describe as "doing it all." That person is the owner, chief cook, and bottle washer (except on weekends when he has a little help from his friends and family). He is a man to be admired for his wisdom and work ethic, but also for creating the perfect environment for those of us who need a little extra company sometimes (it's easy to join in the conversations the regulars have if you choose to, too), or like you say, just to be left alone in your thoughts, or to meet friends for a quite bite to eat. His food is superb, and his sensitivity and kindness to others makes his place an oasis in the tough world we all have to face each day. He is who he is, and you can always count on him to be real. And besides, he makes his tuna sandwiches just like my mom did -- in a way I haven't been able to duplicate. Thanks, Phil.... Life wouldn't be the same without Little Lasses.
Larissa Watt March 10, 2011 at 03:30 PM
So glad you visited Little Lasse's Denise. The owner is a dedicated, hard working man--this place is the "Cheer's" of breakfast in Milford.
Larissa Watt March 10, 2011 at 03:34 PM
He also received rave reviews from food critics two guys a few months ago.
Liz D March 10, 2011 at 06:37 PM
I agree, Phil makes the best blueberry pancakes. I love how the weekday regulars occasionally go behind the counter and pour their own coffee! Little Lasse's is a true little neighborhood gem.
mary ann brangaccio March 11, 2011 at 06:33 PM
Dave & Mary Ann We are snowbirds, now in Fl. but in Milford for the summers. You can't get a bacon, egg, and cheese anywhere in the South and, oh, do we miss Phil's!! It's a great place, good food, homey attmosphere, and why would anyone go any place else!!!
Christian Arias March 27, 2011 at 10:12 PM
Little Lasses is a great place to eat, my favorite plate their is the S.E.C (sausage, egg, and cheese). It's taste is fresh and resembles real food. For example, compared to other places a S.E.C. sandwich at Little Lasses tastes like something that hasnt been made over and over again as if there is no real feeling or deserve in the cooking. Phil the cook of Little Lasses puts a real taste and feeling into his plates which allow his customers and I especially enjoy his food. The blueberry pancakes are to die for, they are best pancakes I ever had that over flow with fresh blueberries, in milford the best pancakes can be debated between Chip's or IHOP but in my opinion Little Lasses beats both places. Every plate served by phill taste like an old family's recipe (always fresh). The prices are always right especially in these times, but the best part of this place is the comfort that is represented when you enter the coffee shop. There is always a seat to sit and relax and enjoy your meal in peace. I always see customers helping themself to a cup of coffee or a drink, giving me the illusion of a friendly place thats makes me feel like im in my own kitchen. To sum it all up its a good place to go after church, with your family, on a date , and a place to go relax with friends for a good cheap meal! -highly recommended
genevieve lasse April 11, 2011 at 01:06 AM
Happy Hour is breakfast at little lasses sunshine every way - food, service and the cook! My favorite is the whole menu! i love sharing with my friends I will see you in june

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something